Pleasing the People of the Palace

September 2, 2010

“It’s like I can’t stand to see anybody frown. I simply don’t care to have anybody feeling down and out, glum, dejected, or even remotely blue. I feel guilty for their sadness, as if I could have saved them.”

“It’s impossibly to please everybody, you’ll run yourself into the ground faster than you can count to seven. You’ll end up feeling down and out, glum, dejected, and more than remotely blue. Your guilt will be your demise.”

“I’ve thought about that, but hearing the despair in all of their voices makes my skin crawl. I don’t know what’s better… Letting go of them or letting go of myself?”

Leave a Reply

